Jarusa.Com - Fun Sites for Sore Eyes

Information on Scholarships


A 'scholarship' is an award of access or an institution and/or money for an individual for the purposes of furthering their education.

'Scholarship' can also refer to the formalised pursuit of academic knowledge and advancement.

Famous Scholarships

Other Scholarships

Rhodes Scholarship

Rhodes Scholarships were created by Cecil John Rhodes. They are awarded annually since 1903 by the Oxford-based Rhodes Trust, on the basis of academic qualities as well as those of character. They provide the successful candidate with two years of study at Oxford, possibly extended for a third year.

When Rhodes died in 1902, his will stipulated that the greater part of his fortune was to go towards the establishment of a scholarship fund. The scholarships, originally worth £300, would reward those applicants who exhibited worthy qualities of intellect, character, and physical ability with the aim of promoting cross-cultural understanding and peace between nations.

Table of contents
1 Standards
2 Changes
3 Allocations
4 Notable Rhodes Scholarship recipients
5 Former Trustees
6 External links


With such lofty aims in mind, the requirements for applicants are equally high. Rhodes' will specified four standards by which applicants were to be judged:

  • literary and scholastic attainments;
  • energy to use one's talents to the full, as exemplified by fondness for and success in sports;
  • truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship;
  • moral force of character and instincts to lead, and to take an interest in one's fellow beings.

Rhodes' aim in setting these stringent standards was his hope that his Scholars would be physically, intellectually and morally capable of leadership, and that wherever their future careers might take them, they would seek to improve the lot of humanity.

Rhodes' will originally provided for scholarships for the British colonies, the United States, and Germany. These three were chosen so that "an understanding between the three great powers will render war impossible."

Rhodes, who attended Oxford, chose his alma mater as the site of his great experiment because he believed its residential colleges provided the ideal environment for intellectual contemplation and personal development.


The program has evolved over its century of existence.

An early change was the elimination of the scholarships for Germany during World War I and II. No German scholars were chosen from 1914 to 1932 and from 1939 to 1970.

In 1977, after the passage of the Sex Discrimination Act of 1975 in the UK, the selection criteria was extended to include women.

For at least its first 75 years, scholars usually read for a Bachelor of Arts degree. While that remains an option, more recent scholars usually read for an advanced degree.

Another change came in 1929, when an act of Parliament established a separate fund from the proceeds of the original. This made it possible for changes and expansions to the number of scholarships. For example, between 1993 and 1995, scholarships were extended to other countries in the European Community.


Approximately 90 Scholars are selected worldwide each year.
(originally separate)
Southern Africa
(originally South Africa)
New Zealand31
Caribbean Commonwealth2-
(originally Rhodesia)
Hong Kong1-

Notable Rhodes Scholarship recipients

In recognition of the centenary of the foundation of the Rhodes Trust, four scholars were awarded honorary degrees to Oxford:

Former Trustees

External links

Fulbright scholarship

Fulbright Scholarships are awarded yearly by the Fulbright Foundation. The foundation was set up by Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The scholarships are so-called challenge grants, in that you actually have to do something useful while you study your subject. The scholarships began as grants to scholars of all ages and levels of education achievement in the United States to go to Europe (primarily) and other regions of the world. Now the foundation and granting of scholarship funds are worldwide operations.

The Foundation promotes Western values, but broadly defined. Persons from any country may outline and define a program relating to education and Western value and submit it to the Fulbright Foundation for funding.

The basic premise is that scholarship by a citizen of one country in a second country results in understanding in, of and by both countries.

External links

Canada Merit Scholarship Foundation

The Canada Merit Scholarship Foundation awards are the most prestigious scholarships for entering college students in Canada and are considered the undergraduate equivalent of the Rhodes Scholarship. Their national awards are awarded annually to the top 15-30 students in the country.

The program's awards are tenable at any university in Canada. Their selection criteria is as follows:

  • 1,800 nominees come as sponsored candidates, with an endorsement from their school. Evaluations are made by 26 Area Committees in 21 centers from St. John's to Victoria, and then as many as 250 semifinalists are chosen for Area interviews.

  • 2,200 candidates from across Canada come through the CMSF Direct Pool as self-nominated candidates. The 12-member National Assessment Panel sits during December and January and evaluates the application of each candidate. CMSF ensures that in the Direct Pool there is proportional regional representation from across the country.

  • From the group of 72 finalists in Toronto, up to 30 are chosen as CMSF National Award recipients.

External link

This page created and maintained by Jamie Sanderson.
© Jamie Sanderson 1999-2005.